Rockville Little Theatre

RLT Theatre Scholar 2022

RLT will be awarding one $1,000 scholarship to a graduating senior from the Richard Montgomery, Rockville or Thomas S. Wootton high school class of 2022. Thanks to the generosity of an anonymous donor, the scholarship will be doubled to $2,000. The finalists and winner will be recognized on our website and via social media.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Graduating senior from Richard Montgomery, Rockville or Thomas S. Wootton High School class of 2022
  • Planning on majoring or minoring in theater

Submission Rules

Deadline: January 31, 2022

All entrants must complete and submit the following items by the deadline to be considered for the scholarship.

  1. Coversheet including: name, email, phone number and high school
  2. Resume outlining participation in theater productions, including part or technical role, organization and timeframe for each entry
  3. One of the following:
    1. Original essay of 500-1000 words on a theater topic
    2. or
    3. 90 second video monologue

All materials above must be submitted via this submission link by January 31, 2022.

RLT's scholarship committee will review all submissions and announce five (5) finalists on March 31, 2022. The finalists will be interviewed by the committee and the winner* will be announced on May 1, 2022.

Please send any questions to

*Proof of college acceptance will be required to receive the scholarship.

Previous Scholars

Theatre Scholar 2021 - Erin Sanders

Erin is a member of the Richard Montgomery High School class of 2021. She plans to attend the University of Maryland, majoring in theater with a concentration in lighting design and stage managing. She always loved theater and started participating in the school's drama club in her freshmen year. She loves working behind the scenes as a tech person (specifically in lighting or as a stage manager) and is currently a technical director. Her dreams are to be able to work full time in theater whether that be community theater, broadway, or both!

Erin Sanders
Maryland State Arts Council

Supported in part by the Maryland State Arts Council ( and the Nora Roberts Foundation (

Nora Roberts Foundation
RLT logo and show logos since the 2017-18 season courtesy of
Stacy Kleber Design